Essex County OUI / DUI Lawyers

Essex County OUI / DUI Lawyers

OUI (Operating under the influence) is a serious offense and is taken very seriously in Essex County.  If you have been charged with OUI you must take immediate action.  We are experienced Essex County OUI / DUI  lawyers and will work with you to quickly take the steps that are necessary to resolve the issues in your case and help to possibly have the charges reduced and bail lowered.

The penalties for OUI are severe and increase with additional convictions.  Therefore, if you have been accused or charged with OUI, it is integral to seek the help of experienced Essex County OUI / DUI attorneys as quickly as possible. An attorney will also ensure that you understand that Massachusetts is unlike many other states in that refusal of sobriety and breath tests cannot be used against you at trial. Therefore, an Essex County OUI / DUI lawyer will likely advise that you avoid participating in such tests.

Penalties for DUI / OUI Conviction Include:

First Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (up to 2 ½ years)
  • Fine of up to $5,000
  • License suspension (1 year)
  • Victim fees if applicable
  • Probation supervision fees

 Alternative “24D”

  • Probation (up to 2 years)
  • Attend alcohol education program
  • Loss of license (45 days)
  • Victim fees
  • OUI and 24D fee
  • Probation supervision fees

Second Offense OUI

  • Jail sentence (mandatory 30 days to 2 ½ years)
  • Fine of $600 to $10,000
  • Head injury assessment fee
  • Loss of Driver’s License for up to 2 years

Third Offense OUI (felony)

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory 150 days up to 5 years)
  • Fine of one thousand dollars to fifteen thousand dollars;
  • Head injury fee
  • Driver’s license loss for 8 years

Fourth Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory one year, up to five years)
  • Fine of one thousand five hundred dollars to twenty five thousand dollars;
  • Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
  • Driver’s License loss for 10 years

Fifth Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory 2 to 5 years)
  • $2,500 to $50,000 fine
  • Head injury fee
  • Loss of Driver’s License (lifetime)

When you are charged with a OUI in Massachusetts, you must take it seriously.  Even a first offense can result in heavy penalties.  Experienced Essex County OUI / DUI attorneys will work with you to defend you against OUI charges.  The attorneys may be able to get your charges reduced or your case dismissed.  If you are convicted, your attorney can assist in trying to get the least severe penalties imposed.

If you need an OUI lawyer in Essex, Middlesex or Suffolk County, Massachusetts, call the Law Offices of Tracy Dorene Dudevoir today.

Related Information: