Massachsetts OUI/DUI Attorney

Massachusetts OUI / DUI Attorney

Operating under the influence (OUI) is among the most common offenses committed in Massachusetts.  Those who operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or narcotics are committing a very serious crime.  There are stiff penalties in Massachusetts for those convicted of OUI Liquor or OUI Drugs. If you have been convicted more than once, the penalties can and will increase, including harsher sentences and longer license losses. This is why it is extremely important for you to consult with an OUI / DUI lawyer as soon as possible.

If you have been charged with OUI in Massachusetts, it is important to hire an experienced OUI / DUI Attorney. A knowledgeable OUI attorney knows the law and will work to help you resolve your case in the most favorable way possible.

There are some specific laws in Massachusetts that apply to every driver.  By having a driver’s license you have already consented to providing a breath or blood test if requested. However, refusal to take such tests does not indicate your guilt, is inadmissable at trial and cannot be used against you. Because of this, in many cases, refusing to take such tests is advisable.

The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is under .08%.  The consequences for conviction of OUI include:

First Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (up to 2 ½ years)
  • Fine of up to $5,000
  • License suspension (1 year)
  • Victim fees if applicable
  • Probation supervision fees

Alternative “24D”

  • Probation (up to 2 years)
  • Attend alcohol education program
  • Loss of license (45 days)
  • Victim fees
  • OUI and 24D fee
  • Probation supervision fees

Second Offense OUI

  • Jail sentence (mandatory 30 days to 2 ½ years)
  • Fine of $600 to $10,000
  • Head injury assessment fee
  • Loss of Driver’s License for up to 2 years

Third Offense OUI (felony)

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory 150 days up to 5 years)
  • Fine of one thousand dollars to fifteen thousand dollars;
  • Head injury fee
  • Driver’s license loss for 8 years

Fourth Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory one year, up to five years)
  • Fine of one thousand five hundred dollars to twenty five thousand dollars;
  • Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
  • Driver’s License loss for 10 years

Fifth Offense OUI

  • Jail Sentence (mandatory 2 to 5 years)
  • $2,500 to $50,000 fine
  • Head injury fee
  • Loss of Driver’s License (lifetime)

Because of the complicated nature of OUI laws in Massachusetts, if you have been charged with OUI, you should seek assistance from an experienced OUI / DUI attorney immediately. We will work to ensure that the charges are correct and will work to reduce bail.  For instance, one thing our experienced attorneys can review when they take your case your case is whether the test used to determine BAC was accurate and was conducted properly.

Because Massachusetts has a “zero-tolerance law,” everyone who is convicted of OUI can be subject to harsh penalties.  Additionally, anyone under the legal drinking age of 21 can possibly face additional penalties if their BAC is found to be over .02%.

If you are charged with OUI, it is best to seek the help of a qualified attorney as soon as possible.  Our goal as experienced Massachusetts OUI / DUI attorneys is to assist you in fighting a conviction and helping to prevent you from having a criminal conviction on your record.

If you have been charged with an OUI in Massachusetts, contact the Law Offices of Tracy Dorene Dudevoir today to learn your rights.

 Related Information: